Game Curious Montreal

A series of welcoming events connecting games with social justice struggles.

Next Event AntiFa Game Jam 2019 Calendar

Are you game curious?

Game Curious Montreal is a series of free public events aimed at creating a space for people who are new to games, or who feel marginalized or excluded by the dominant culture. We meet, play games and talk about them and the issues they explore, like a book club for games!

We will explore digital and non-digital games from an anti-capitalist, anti-colonial, and anti-oppressive perspective, with participation from local grassroots organizations and collectives. So it’s a ~ radical ~ book club for games!

We want to help build bridges between communities, create a welcoming environment for discussion, explore the possibilities of games as a form of political expression, and provide new avenues for people to learn about and get involved in addressing social and environmental issues. Also, we have snacks!

The Game Curious Montreal Collective acknowledges that these events are taking place on the traditional territory of the Kanien’kehá:ka (“Mohawk”). The Kanien’kehá:ka are the keepers of the Eastern Door of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy. The island called “Montreal” is known as Tiotia:ke in the language of the Kanien’kehá:ka, and it has historically been a meeting place for other Indigenous nations.

The Game Curious Montreal Collective is a working group of QPIRG-Concordia.

The program is inspired by and has been developed in partnership with the Toronto Game Curious program, which started in 2013 and is currently organized by the Hand Eye Society and Art Starts. You can find out more about the Toronto program on the Hand-Eye Society website

Calendar

Upcoming Events

To be announced!

Past Events 2019

Past Events 2018

Contact

Email: gamecuriousmtl@gmail.com

Facebook: facebook.com/gamecuriousmtl

Twitter: twitter.com/game_curious

Itch.io: gamecuriousmtl.itch.io

Mount Royal Game Society: mrgs.ca

Curieux.se de Jeux Montréal

Une série d’événements accueillants joignant jeux et enjeux de justice sociale.

Prochain Événement Game Jam Antifasciste Calendrier 2019

Êtes vous curieux.se de jeux?

Curieux.se de Jeux Montréal est une série d’événements publics gratuits visant la création d’un espace pour les personnes qui sont nouvelles aux jeux, ou qui se sentent marginalisées ou exclues par la culture dominante. On se rencontre, on joue à des jeux et on discute des sujets qu’ils touchent, comme un club de lecture pour les jeux!

Nous nous intéressons aux jeux numériques et physiques, les approchant d’une perspective anti-capitaliste, anti-coloniale, et anti-oppressive, avec la participation de groupes communautaires et de collectifs locaux. Donc, c’est comme un club de lecture ~ radical ~ pour les jeux!

Nous visons à aider à tisser des liens entre les communautés, à créer un environnement accueillant pour la discussion, à explorer le potentiel des jeux comme forme d’expression politique, et à fournir de nouvelles voies à toute personne qui souhaite apprendre et s’impliquer dans les luttes sociales et environnementales. Aussi, on a des snacks!

Le collectif de Curieux.se de Jeux Montréal reconnaît que cette série se déroule sur le territoire traditionnel des Kanien’kehá:ka (“Mohawk”). Les Kanien’kehá:ka sont les gardiens de la Porte de l’Est de la Confédération Haudenosaunee. L’île que nous appelons “Montréal” est connue par le nom de Tiotia:ke dans le langage des Kanien’kehá:ka, et l’endroit a traditionnellement été un lieu de rencontre entre plusieurs Premières Nations.

Le collectif de Curieux.se de Jeux Montréal est un groupe de travail de QPIRG-Concordia.

Le programme est inspiré et développé en partenariat avec le programme Toronto Game Curious, qui à débuté en 2013 et est présentement organizé par les organisations Hand Eye Society et Art Starts. Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur le programme Torontois sur le site web de Hand-Eye Society

Calendrier

Prochains Evénements

À venir

Evénements Passés 2019

Evénements Passés 2018

Contact

Courriel: gamecuriousmtl@gmail.com

Facebook: facebook.com/gamecuriousmtl

Twitter: twitter.com/game_curious

Itch.io: gamecuriousmtl.itch.io

Société Ludique du Mont Royal: mrgs.ca