Capitalism & Workers Struggles


Capitalism & Workers Struggles

February 14 2018


Cart Life


Cart Life, Richard Hofmeier
archive.org/details/cart-life-v1.6

Play as a street vendor struggling to make ends meet. There are several characters to choose from, each with their own histories, needs, and responsibilities. While many games feature powerful heroes and fantasy worlds, Cart Life instead focuses on the day-to-day lives of low-income, self-employed workers.

It's As If You Were Doing Work


It’s As If You Were Doing Work, Pippin Barr
pippinbarr.github.io/itisasifyouweredoingwork

The game poses as an application that humans who have been put out of work by robots and AI can play as a way to recapture the sense they once had of doing work and being productive. A tongue-in-cheek commentary on automation, office work, and the cult of productivity.

Kulak


Kulak, Komrade Studios
komradestudios.wordpress.com/

Kulak is a game of chance and politics in which players fight and negotiate over land. The game pits a wealthy Baron against a group of Proletarians, who must decide if they will stand together or betray one another for a chance at prosperity.”

To Build A Better Mousetrap


To Build A Better Mousetrap, Molleindustria
molleindustria.org/to-build-a-better-mousetrap/

“A semi-abstract management game.” Your goal is to maximize profits so you can make enough money to retire, but watch out! Workers will rebel if you don’t manage to keep them under control. This game simulates class struggle and exploitation, and is a good starting point for discussions about capitalism.

Overcooked


Overcooked, Ghost Town Games
ghosttowngames.com/overcooked/

A local multiplayer game about kitchen work, where organization and group coordination in the face of unforeseen situations is key.

Post/Capitalism


Post/Capitalism, Colestia
colestia.itch.io/postcapitalism

“A short game which depicts how we might reorganise the capitalist present into a postcapitalist utopia.” Transform different aspects of society to discover how they’re interconnected.

Crisis Theory


Crisis Theory, Colestia
colestia.itch.io/crisis-theory

In Crisis Theory you play as the spirit of capitalism, as described by the Marxist model of accumulation. Your singular goal is profit. But beware, contradictions abound, and you will have to use every tool at your disposal to avoid falling into crisis!

Earthling Priorities


Earthling Priorities, Konstantinos Dimopoulos
gnome.itch.io/earthling-priorities

You play a young worker with a severe case of false consciousness, a scab trying to get to work in the not-so-distant dystopian future, only to be stopped by your automatic front door which developed sentience and tries to convince you that you are being exploited.

Komma Lika


Komma Lika, Maria Loohufvud and Pasadena Studio
kommalika.com

A game about domestic labour, where the end goal is equality. Players build colourful patterns out of triangles, representing how many household chores they’ve done. Playing is a way for players to reflect on how household chores are distributed, making visible the invisible, unpaid labour that is disproportionately performed by women.

The Founder


The Founder, Francis Tseng
thefounder.biz

A dystopian business simulator.” Bootstrap your new startup, develop new technologies, build hype for your products, grow and never stop. Remember, “your shareholders demand relentless expansion and profit. Satisfy them or be forced to resign.”

The McDonald's Game


The McDonald’s Game, Molleindustria
mcvideogame.com

An “anti-advergame” that parodies the harmful and destructive business practices of corporate giant, McDonald’s. Bribe public officials, demolish villages and rainforests, pump livestock with hormones, manipulate children, and work your employees to the bone, all in the name of profit.

Le Capitalisme & Les Luttes Ouvrières


Le Capitalisme & Les Luttes Ouvrières

14 Février 2018


Cart Life


Cart Life, Richard Hofmeier
archive.org/details/cart-life-v1.6

Jouez le rôle d’un.e vendeu.r.se de rue et essayez de joindre les deux bouts. Il y a plusieurs personnages à choisir, chacun.e avec sa propre histoire, ses besoins, et ses responsabilités. Bien que beaucoup de jeux mettent en scène des héros puissants dans des mondes fantastiques, Cart Life se concentre sur la vie de tous les jours des travailleu.rs.ses indépendant.e.s à faible revenu.

It's As If You Were Doing Work


It’s As If You Were Doing Work, Pippin Barr
pippinbarr.github.io/itisasifyouweredoingwork

Le jeu se présente comme une application pour les humains dont le travail a été remplacé par les robots et l’intelligence artificielle, afin de re-capturer le sens qu’ils avaient jadis de faire du travail et être productifs. Un commentaire satirique sur l’automation, le travail de bureau, et le culte de la productivité.

Kulak


Kulak, Komrade Studios
komradestudios.wordpress.com/

Kulak est un jeu de chance et de politique dans lequel les joueurs se battent et négocient pour du terrain agricole. Le jeu met en conflit un riche baron contre un groupe de prolétaires, qui doivent décider si iels s’unissent dans la lutte ou se trahissent les un.e.s les autres pour une chance à la prospérité.”

To Build A Better Mousetrap


To Build A Better Mousetrap, Molleindustria
molleindustria.org/to-build-a-better-mousetrap/

“Un jeu de gestion semi-abstrait.” Votre bût est de maximiser les profits afin de prendre votre retraite, mais attention! Les ouvriers se révolteront si vous ne réussissez pas à les garder sous contrôle. Le jeu simule la lutte des classes et l’exploitation, et est un bon point de départ pour les discussions sur le capitalisme.

Overcooked


Overcooked, Ghost Town Games
ghosttowngames.com/overcooked/

Un jeu multijoueur local sur le travail de cuisine, où l’organisation et la coordination de groupe face aux situation imprévues est la clé.

Post/Capitalism


Post/Capitalism, Colestia
colestia.itch.io/postcapitalism

“Un court jeu qui présente la manière dont on pourrait réorganiser notre présent capitaliste en utopie post-capitaliste” Transformez différents aspects de la société et découvrez comment ils sont liés entre eux.

Crisis Theory


Crisis Theory, Colestia
colestia.itch.io/crisis-theory

Dans Crisis Theory vous jouez l’esprit du capitalisme, tel que décrit dans le modèle marxiste de l’accumulation. Votre but singulier est le profit. Mais attention, les contradictions abondent, et vous aurez à utiliser tous les outils à votre disposition pour éviter de tomber dans la crise!

Earthling Priorities


Earthling Priorities, Konstantinos Dimopoulos
gnome.itch.io/earthling-priorities

Vous êtes un jeune travailleur qui souffre d’un mauvais cas de fausse conscience, un briseur de grève qui essaie d’aller au travail dans un futur dystopique pas si lointain, seulement pour en être empêché par votre porte automatique qui a développé sa propre volonté et qui essaie de vous convaincre que vous êtes exploité.

Komma Lika


Komma Lika, Maria Loohufvud and Pasadena Studio
kommalika.com

Un jeu sur le travail domestique, où le but final est l’égalité. Les joueu.rs.ses construisent des motifs colorés à partir de triangles, représentant combien de tâches domestiques iels ont accompli. Jouer est une manière de refléter sur la façon dont les tâches domestiques sont accomplies, rendant visible le travail invisible et non payé qui est fait de manière disproportionné par les femmes.

The Founder


The Founder, Francis Tseng
thefounder.biz

“Un simulateur d’entreprise dystopique”. Démarrez votre startup, développez de nouvelles technologies, faites de la publicité pour vos produits, mettez vous en expansion et n’arrêtez jamais. Rappelez-vous, “vos actionnaires demandent une expansion et des profits incessants. Satisfiez-les ou soyez forcé.e de démissionner.”

The McDonald's Game


The McDonald’s Game, Molleindustria
mcvideogame.com

Un “anti-advergame” qui parodie les pratiques d’entreprise destructives du géant de la corporation, McDonald’s. Soudoyez les fonctionnaires publics, démolissez des villages et des forêts. Pompez votre bétail aux hormones, manipulez des enfants, et épuisez vos employés au travail, tout au nom du profit.