Game Curious Montreal Collective Safer Space Policy

The Game Curious Montreal Collective is dedicated to fostering a safer space at all events: this means creating an environment where people who are typically excluded from or marginalized in game-related spaces feel welcome and respected. The goal of safer spaces is to encourage all participants to work together to prevent or reduce harm, particularly for those who are often the targets of violence and harassment. Oppressive behaviour that makes others feel unsafe will not be tolerated.

Such behaviours include – but are not limited to – offensive actions or verbal comments (related to gender, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, religion, language, socioeconomic standing, or otherwise), sexually demeaning images in public spaces, intimidation, stalking, photography or recording without consent, disruption or highjacking of inclusive discussions, inappropriate or non-consensual physical contact, and unwelcome attention of any type. Because individuals might feel unsafe for reasons not necessarily covered in the above list, the Game Curious Montreal Collective recognizes that the safety of the space depends on a variety of factors including subject matter, context, the individual and group identities of the attendees and organizers, and physical location. As such, it is important that all participants in Game Curious spaces and events be considerate, mindful, and respectful of other participants and strive to make the space safe at that specific time, for those specific people, in that specific context, rather than simply adhering to a pre-established ‘do-and-don’t’ list.

Participants whose behaviour is making others around them feel unsafe will be asked to cease the offending behaviour and will be expected to comply or leave the space immediately. If a participant continues the offending behaviour, organizers may take any action they deem appropriate to remedy the situation, including issuing verbal warnings, written warnings, and temporary or permanent expulsion from showcases, workshops and other events run by the collective.

If you feel that someone is making the space unsafe for you, if you notice that someone else is being made to feel unsafe, or if you have any other concerns, please contact an organizer. Organizers and volunteers will be happy to help participants contact venue security, provide escorts, or otherwise help you to feel safe for the duration of the events. We value your attendance.

  • Email address of organizers: gamecuriousmtl@gmail.com
  • Local sexual assault hotline: 514 398-8500 SACoMSS
  • Local emergency and non-emergency medical: 911
  • Local taxi company: Taxi Diamond 514 273-6331

Attendance at Game Curious Montréal venues and social events implies that the participants agree to, and will abide by, these rules.

The text for this policy is adapted from the MRGS Safer Space policy and the Geek Feminism Conference Anti-Harassment policy

Police d’espace Sécuritaire du collectif Curieux.se de Jeux Montréal

Le Collectif Curieux de Jeux Montréal vide à favoriser un environnement plus sécuritaire à tous ses évènements: ceci veut dire créer un environnement où les personnes qui sont typiquement exclues ou marginalisées dans les espaces liés aux jeux vidéos peuvent se sentir respectées et bienvenues. Le but d’un environnement sécuritaire est d’encourager tous les participant(e)s à travailler ensemble afin de prévenir et de réduire les nuisances, particulièrement envers ceux et celles qui sont souvent la cible de violence et de harcèlement. Les comportements oppressifs qui provoquent un sentiment d’insécurité à autrui ne seront pas tolérés.

Ces comportements incluent – mais ne se limitent pas à – actions offensives ou commentaires verbaux (reliés au genre, à l’orientation sexuelle, aux handicaps, à l’apparence physique, la taille du corps, la race, la religion, la langue, le statut socio-économique, ou autres), les images de nature sexuellement dégradante en espace public, l’intimidation, le harcèlement, la prise de photos ou l’enregistrement sans consentement, la perturbation ou le détournement de discussions inclusives, le contact physique inapproprié ou non-consensuel, et l’attention non sollicitée de tout type. Du fait que des individus peuvent se sentir dans l’insécurité pour des raisons qui ne sont pas couvertes dans cette liste, Curieux de Jeux Montréal reconnaît que la sécurité de l’environnement dépend d’une variété de facteurs incluant le sujet de discussion, le contexte, les identités individuelles et collectives des participant(e)s et des organisateurs/trices, et le lieu physique. De ce fait, il est important que tous les participant(e)s restent prévenants, attentifs, respecteux(ses) des autres participant(e)s, et fassent de leur mieux pour s’assurer du bien-être des personnes présentes dans le contexte spécifique, plutôt que d’adhérer à une liste pré-établie de ce qui serait “permis ou interdit”.

Il sera demandé aux participant(e)s dont le comportement nuit au bien-être des autres de cesser le comportement en question ou de quitter l’espace immédiatement. Si un(e) participant(e) continue de se comporter de manière nuisible, les organisateurs(trices) de Curieux de Jeux Montréal peuvent prendre toute action qu’ils/elles jugent nécessaire, ce qui inclut les avertissements verbaux ou écrits, et l’expulsion temporaire ou permanente des rencontres, ateliers, et autres événements de Curieux de Jeux Montréal.

Si vous ressentez que quelqu’un nuit à votre confort et votre sécurité, si vous remarquez que le bien-être de quelqu’un d’autre est atteint, ou si vous avez quelconque autre souci, n’hésitez pas à contacter un(e) des volontaires ou des médiateurs/trices de la politique d’environnement sécuritaire. Les organisateurs(trices), les volontaires, et les médiateurs/trices seront prêts à vous aider à contacter la sécurité des lieux, à offrir de vous escorter, ou à vous aider de quelque autre manière à vous sentir en sécurité pendant nos événements. Votre présence compte pour nous.

  • Courriel de l’organisme: gamecuriousmtl@gmail.com
  • Ligne d’aide aux agressions sexuelle: 514 398-8500 SACoMSS
  • Urgences médicales locales: 911
  • Compagnie de taxi locale: Taxi Diamond 514 273-6331

La participation aux événements de Curieux de Jeux Montréal implique l’accord et l’adhérence à ces règles.

Le texte de cette politique est adapté de la police d’espace sécuritaire du MRGS et [la police anti-harcèlement de la Conférence Geek Feminism]